Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant [Review]

Zenn Diagram

What started off as an interesting story about a girl with an inexplicable ability to sense other people’s experiences through touch quickly became a generic YA contemporary novel.

Continue reading “Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant [Review]”

Advertisements

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver [Review]

6482837

I did not expect much from this book because it seems like it is about a privileged girl living in the suburbs whining over her first-world white girl problems as she relives her death seven times. So, it was a pleasant surprise when the whole story completely blew me away.

Continue reading “Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver [Review]”

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta [Review]

 82434

Saving Francesca is not as elaborate as Marchetta’s Jellicoe Road but I thought it was an entertaining read that exudes humor and honesty.

Continue reading “Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta [Review]”

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta [Review]

2999475

Last read: January 2, 2015

Every time someone tests me and asks me to say the first two sentences of this book (which, by the way, hooks you in real quick), I stare them straight in the eye and recite the entire prologue with an Australian accent thrown in just for good measure. Haha. I memorized the prologue because after reading it for the first time, I realized how perfectly it sets up the book’s mystery. Now that I have read it for the second time, I cannot believe I only gave it four stars on GoodReads instead of the full five stars.

Continue reading “Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta [Review]”

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell [Book Review]

28356624

When I read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, I fell in love with the fiction within the fiction. I was interested in Simon Snow’s world more than I cared for what happened to Cath and Levi. I wanted to get the full-course meal that is Simon and Baz rather than mere taste tests.

Continue reading “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell [Book Review]”

Ghostboy, Chameleon & the Duke of Graffiti by Olivia Wildenstein [Review]

25567966

I think this book had potential. I mean, it markets itself as a tearjerker about a little boy dying of cancer, a perfect read for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. Aaaand, it’s told from the male character’s perspective. There are so many books out there in the contemporary and dystopian genres about a girl relaying her encounters with a certain guy in painstaking and incredible detail. Not that there’s any problem with that but like I said, there have been so many. It becomes repetitive. So, when I chanced upon this book, I wondered how refreshing it would be to see how a guy falls head over heels for the mysterious girl. If that’s what you’re looking for, I’d say move along to another book.

Continue reading “Ghostboy, Chameleon & the Duke of Graffiti by Olivia Wildenstein [Review]”