Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant [Review]

Zenn Diagram

What started off as an interesting story about a girl with an inexplicable ability to sense other people’s experiences through touch quickly became a generic YA contemporary novel.

Continue reading “Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant [Review]”

Advertisements

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler [Review]

25700544

Kano Murasaki is given the nickname Risuko (squirrel) because she likes to climb trees, roofs, and other high places. One day while she was up in a tree, she gets called down by a strange lady named Chiyome passing through her home province and tells her that she needs to come with her because Risuko’s mother sold her to the lady. She then travels to a secluded place called Full Moon together with other kids where they train to be Kunoichi, a special kind of woman.

Continue reading “Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler [Review]”

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell [Book Review]

28356624

When I read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, I fell in love with the fiction within the fiction. I was interested in Simon Snow’s world more than I cared for what happened to Cath and Levi. I wanted to get the full-course meal that is Simon and Baz rather than mere taste tests.

Continue reading “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell [Book Review]”

Ghostboy, Chameleon & the Duke of Graffiti by Olivia Wildenstein [Review]

25567966

I think this book had potential. I mean, it markets itself as a tearjerker about a little boy dying of cancer, a perfect read for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. Aaaand, it’s told from the male character’s perspective. There are so many books out there in the contemporary and dystopian genres about a girl relaying her encounters with a certain guy in painstaking and incredible detail. Not that there’s any problem with that but like I said, there have been so many. It becomes repetitive. So, when I chanced upon this book, I wondered how refreshing it would be to see how a guy falls head over heels for the mysterious girl. If that’s what you’re looking for, I’d say move along to another book.

Continue reading “Ghostboy, Chameleon & the Duke of Graffiti by Olivia Wildenstein [Review]”