Between the Starlight by Elaine Pinter [Review]

Between the Starlight

Between the Starlight traversed multiple paths I didn’t really quite agree with, but there were scenes in this book that showed promise and great potential.

Alexa Grace Evans is just a few months away from graduating high school. With her future all planned out, she’s ready to take it on. That is, until a chance encounter with Gavin Phillips and a required senior essay makes her question every single aspect of her life. Just as things are starting to grow deeper between her and Gavin, Alexa finds herself in the middle of the street facing a pair of rapidly approaching headlights. She becomes conscious in a meadow between the starlight. Life and death tugging at her from both directions and this is where she finally sorts out herself, her family, and Gavin.

The romance between Alexa and Gavin was a little underdeveloped. I didn’t feel any build-up and felt like it all happened too fast. Alexa’s character also read a little young for me. Maybe it was because she keeps a diary (and actually writes in it every day) or maybe it was the way she acts as if she’s not eighteen years old yet. When Alexa said that Gavin made her “want to be someone who’s not afraid to do things on her own” just because he helped her fix her car and asked her to carry 4 liters of water, I personally felt that that was a weak basis for her infatuation. The last part of the book got a little bit messy and I found that a few things were unnecessary to the story.

However… (This is a really huge however)

The scenes where Alexa found herself in the meadow between the starlight where she was contemplating on life and death felt breathtakingly tangible. They were so surreal that I felt like I was in a dream while reading it. I only have two experiences with books where a setting is described and my mind pictures it with so much ease and grace that I felt like I was physically in it. The first one is the magical masterpiece that is Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. The second one is this book by Elaine Pinter.

As I read word after word of the place between the starlight, I imagined every single element vividly rise up from my bedroom floor with quiet certainty and I felt like I was in a different world. I saw the stars, felt the grass between my toes, and sensed the wind dance along my skin. I knew then that Pinter has a magical gift for writing. I just wished she displayed this throughout the entire book.

Overall, most of the book didn’t really hit me that hard but those were outweighed by the beauty of the few precious scenes I fell in love with. Since this is still an ARC, I’m hoping that there would be changes in some parts of this book. Now, I don’t know if Ms. Elaine Pinter would consider these changes just because of this one review (probably not) but my one wish, dear author, is for you to never alter the words from the starlight scenes because every single one of them was absolutely captivating.

Note: I received a free copy of this book from the author, Elaine Pinter, and LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Shelve this on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

